Date: 18 – 20 September
Time: 11am – 5pm
Location: Bonded Warehouse
Artist: Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Linda Buckley & Irene Buckley
Title: Passages


Passages is a brand new commission created for Sounds from a Safe Harbour, involving music & visuals by three international artists from Cork. The bonded warehouses on Custom House Quay once served as nexus for goods being shipped into and out of the city.
This new work sees both sisters collaborate with Ailbhe Ní Bhriain in an immersive piece of visual music, evoking these memories, and the immense power and beauty of the ocean. Passages – the warmth of shared journeys, the mystery of night ships and the passing of time.

Irene and Linda Buckley

Two of Cork’s most talented, innovative and challenging composers and musicians during the last decade, Irene and Linda Buckley have created an enormous body of work as solo artists, recognised far beyond the shores of their home country.

Linda’s music has been described as “strange and beautiful” (Boston Globe, July 2004), and a “fascinating interaction between live sound and electronics”, while her work has been performed by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Dresden Sinfoniker Orchestra and Crash Ensemble among others.

Irene was a prize winer at the 14th International Young Composers Meeting in the Netherlands and has also written music for many theatre, dance and film productions. She recently composed a live score for Carl Dreyer’s The Passion of Joan of Arc for soprano, organ and electronics and Epstein’s The Fall of the House of Usher for organ and electronics.


General enquiries: info@soundsfromasafeharbour.com


Copyright 2015 Cork Opera House PLC