Date: 12 September
Time: 8pm
Artists: Various
Title: Lismore Suite: The Prelude to Sounds From a Safe Harbour
Location: Lismore Castle
Tickets: €50** available here
**Not part of the festival ticket

The Prelude to Sounds From A Safe Harbour is a unique event, which takes place on the evening of September 12 ​at the end of a week-long residency period in the stately Lismore Castle, will include Bryce and Aaron Dessner (The National), Lisa Hannigan, members of internationally renowned new music group Crash Ensemble and virtuosic Canadian violinist, Yuki Numata Resnick.

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to see a once in a lifetime evening of collaboration between artists at their absolute creative peak.


Date: Saturday 19 September
Time: 10:30pm
Location:: Everyman Theatre
Artist: Crash Ensemble with Valgeir Sigurðsson and Sam Amidon
Tickets: Single ticket €25* available here

*Included in festival ticket €175

This is what happens when folks go into the bedroom together…
Sam Amidon, Valgeir Sigurðsson and Crash Ensemble perform a late night concert as part of Sounds from a Safe Harbour, a festival curated by The National’s Bryce Dessner.


Date: Sunday 20 September
Time: 8pm
Location: Everyman Theatre
Artist: Crash Ensemble, So Percussion, Shara Worden, Bryce Dessner, Aaron Dessner, Richard Reed Parry, Yuki Numata Resnick and Nadia Sirota
Title: Sounds from a Safe Harbour – Festival Showcase presented by Bryce Dessner
Tickets: Single ticket €25* available here

*Included in festival ticket €175

As the festival tide rolls out of Cork, we take some time to celebrate the wave it has created with this intimate evening presented by Bryce Dessner (The National). The evening will showcase Crash Ensemble, So Percusson and Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond) with special appearances by Bryce himself, Aaron Dessner (The National), Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Yuki Numata Resnick and Nadia Sirota

Crash Ensemble

Crash Ensemble is a Irish new music ensemble, founded in 1997 by composer Donnacha Dennehy, conductor and pianist Andrew Synott and clarinettist Michael Seaver. It currently consists of 10 instrumentalists and the conductor Alan Pierson, under the artistic direction of Donnacha Dennehy and Kate Ellis, in addition to utilising video, lighting and sound amplification as an integral parts of the project.

The ensemble has been particularly associated with totalist (post-minimalist) composers from the US and post-new Hague school composers from the Netherlands. They have also played music by Dennehy and other Irish composers, and older pieces by the minimalist generation (including Steve Reich, Philip Glass, Louis Andriessen and Terry Riley). It has given premieres or commissioned work by Nico Muhly, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Peter Adriaansz and Julie Feeney.


General enquiries: info@soundsfromasafeharbour.com


Copyright 2015 Cork Opera House PLC